When Should I Notify My Employer?
An injured worker in Pennsylvania must understand the 120-day rule for notifying his or her employer of any work injury. Under Pennsylvania’s workers’ compensation laws, an injured worker has to notify his or her employer of the injury within 120 days of the injury. The clock starts ticking from the date of the injury. Failure to inform within this deadline will strip the injured worker of valuable compensation rights.
Whom Do You Notify?
The Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act requires the injured worker to notify certain people of the injury. Notifying a co-worker about your injury is not enough. You must notify a supervisor or manager. Notice does not have to be in writing. In fact, the requirement in some cases can be fulfilled if your supervisor or manager witnesses your work injury accident. Each and every situation is different, so it is critical to consult with an attorney.
Exceptions To The Notification Timeline
There are special circumstances and situations that warrant an exception to the 120-day rule. That’s because certain injuries are not immediately noticed, while other injuries develop over time. Examples include:
- Hearing loss
- Repetitive motion injuries for which there may not be a distinct “date of injury”
If you are unsure of when your injury occurred, we can go over your rights and obligations for your specific case.
For more information about your duty to notify an employer of an injury and what happens after this point in the workers’ compensation process, talk to an experienced attorney at Krasno, Krasno & Onwudinjo in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. We help workers with all types of injury claims, and our lawyers will guide you in seeking full workers’ compensation benefits.
Contact Us ASAP For Guidance On Workplace Injury Notification
This is not the time to hesitate or wait to make a decision. There is a deadline that must be met, and you may have already exceeded the time limit. Find out how we can help. Email or call us at 570-794-502 or toll free at 2866-443-1505 to talk to an experienced attorney. Krasno, Krasno & Onwudinjo charges on a contingency basis for all workers’ compensation claims. This means we only get paid if you receive compensation or if we prevent the insurance company from stopping or altering your benefits.