How often should I get my workers’ compensation check?
Under the Workers’ Compensation Act, insurance companies are supposed to pay your workers’ compensation check at the same frequency you get your normal pay check. If you are paid weekly, you should get your workers’ compensation check every week. Although Pennsylvania law requires the payment of wage-loss benefits within a specified time-frame, late payments are common. If you are working and receiving partial workers’ compensation checks, you should always keep the pay stubs from your time of injury job and any other jobs you are working. The insurance company will delay making partial payments until they have the wage information, so it is always helpful if you keep your pay stubs regardless of their method of delivery.
What should I do if my check didn’t come in on time?
Are insurance companies dragging their feet? If they are the first thing to recommend would be getting in contact with your workers’ compensation attorney. There are provisions in Pennsylvania law which allow them to take action regarding late payments on workers compensation checks. If an insurance company is late on a payment your attorney can file a penalty petition, which is something that will help to get the workers’ compensation insurance companies to move a bit faster.
If you routinely get late payments you should keep a record of each check number, and when it came in. In the case of automated deposit systems screenshots of your bank account when it is deposited with timestamps will help corroborate your claim. In order to enforce your right to receive your worker’s compensation check in a timely manner, it is best to seek out your workers’ compensation lawyer and to speak with them on the correct actions to take regarding your situation.
How much will my workers’ compensation check be?
In terms of how much you will make from workers’ compensation, it depends on your earnings and your given state laws. In Pennsylvania, the law of the land is that you are entitled to 66 2/3% of your paycheck, which in layman’s terms means that you get two-thirds of your normal gross wage (pre-tax wage). Though this is not always the case depending on how much you make. This will determine which tier you fall into.
All of the following numbers are updated as of 1/1/17 according to Pennsylvania law.
Tier One: The 66 2/3% applies to this tier. So if you make over $746.26 in pre-tax weekly income, all the way up to $1,492.50 you would be entitled to two-thirds of your weekly pre-tax paycheck. However, this is where the maximum benefits that you may receive cap out at $995 in pre tax weekly income.
Tier Two: If you were to earn $746.25 to $552.78 per week in pre tax income, your workers’ compensation check would amount to $497.50 regardless of your place within the range.
Tier Three: If you earn less than $552.77 per week, then your compensation rate would be 90 percent of your weekly pre tax income.
All of this data is sourced from the Pennsylvania’s Department of Labor Worker’s Compensation page Check out the page for yourself to make sure the information is still accurate. However, while the numbers of the specific tiers may move, you will still fall into one of the three tiers, the highest being the 66 2/3%, the second being the flat rate, and the last being the 90%.
If you have more questions that this page did not answer, please look at our workers’ compensation page where we cover a multitude of topics regarding workers’ compensation and hopefully answer any remaining questions you may have. If you are not currently represented by a workers’ compensation lawyer and would like to be represented by Krasno, Krasno, and Owundinjo, please feel free to contact us.